Loading Events
Home / Events / Webinar: World Food Safety Day
Webinar: World Food Safety Day
World Food Safety Day
Wednesday June 3, 2020 Image: FAO
6:00 am - 7:00 am

Organizer

FAO
Website:
http://www.fao.org/home/en/

Venue

Online webinar

FAO/OIE/WFP/WHO jointly organize the food safety webinar – Food safety in the “new normal” on June 3, 2020 at 16.00 (11.00 ICT Time, 9.30 in New Delhi, 11.00 in Bangkok, 12.00 in Manila, 13.00 in Tokyo, 14.00 in Sydney, 17.00 in Apia, and 18.00 in Rarotonga)
Online registration: https://oie.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJcucuyrpzkuH9D2xNY7vJ-x3Ohk6ud7Y2Jp
Have you noticed that you are now washing your hands more properly than the last year?  It is an important yet unique opportunity on the second observance of World Food Safety Day that we all have a chance to reflect how our continuous and new food safety actions could fit into the “new normal” era.

Over the last few decades, a substantial amount of efforts have been made to improve our food safety systems in Asia and the Pacific. Consumers are more aware of food safety and quality, demanding better and safer food. Many governments have been introducing modernized food control systems and improving the practical implementation and enforcement measures. Industries are recognizing new trends in people’s food habits, and the importance of self-checking on food safety practices has become very important. Innovative technologies and techniques are researched and invented to make our food safer. Fake news is everywhere and provision of accurate information has become extremely important. Many stakeholders have spent many years and lots of money to improve food safety in countries in the region, but why do we still have many shortcomings? And what priority food safety issues should we tackle in the coming years?

On the occasion of World Food Safety Day, the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE), World Food Programme (WFP) and World Health Organization (WHO) are pleased to inform you that we will hold a regional joint food safety webinar on Wednesday, 3 June 2020 at 11.00 hrs (ICT Time, Bangkok) to discuss current food safety issues in Asia and the Pacific with you. This year, three guest panelists from different sectors (government, industry and research institution) and different countries (China, India and Singapore); have agreed to share their unique perspectives with the audience.

Registration

You will receive an email with the Zoom meeting link after completing the registration process. Please save the email until the day of the webinar. Note that there are a limited number of spaces available for participants. It is recommended that you sign in shortly before the webinar start time on 3rd June as spaces will be provided on a first-come-first-served basis on the day of the webinar.

Webinar agenda

  1. Welcome by Simone Moraes Raszl, on behalf of FAO, OIE, WFP and WHO
  2. Regional food safety activities by FAO (Masami Takeuchi), OIE (Lesa Thompson), WFP (Carla Mejia) and WHO (Gyanendra Gongal)
  3. Structured panel discussions “Food safety in the new normal”, moderated by Sridhar Dharmapuri, FAO (Panelists: Junshi Chen, China National Center for Food Safety Risk Assessment, China, Joanne Chan Sheot Harn, the Centre Director for the National Centre for Food Science, Singapore, Vishal Bhatia, CEO, New Supply SWIGGY, India)
  4. Interactive discussions with the audience
  5. Closing by Carla Mejia, on behalf of FAO, OIE, WFP and WHO

Contact

Any questions about the webinar can be sent to Tikiri Priyantha ().

  • This event has passed.
Upcoming events